The very early history of Center Hill begins back in 1842.  Elethorn Mobley was issued 160.24 acres, dated the 4th day of March, 1842.  They first called this area “Abram Town” or “Mobley Town”. This area extended from north of the present Highway 50 to near Beville’s Corner.  Mrs. Carrie Lovell named this little town “Center Hill” as it was in the center of the county and on top of a hill. Dr. Spicer joined with Major Lovell in buying much of this land in 1881; he was the first to put in a drug store, and the second grocery store; he was also the first postmaster. Cash was very rare; pay came in the form of barter. The old pool near the Antiock church was a favorite place for swimming, picnics and Baptisms.  Public schools have been operating in Center Hill before the high school was built in 1922.  However, the building was soon outgrown and another high school was built. This building served the Center Hill community until around 1928-29.  When the students were enrolled in the Bushnell High School and were transported by bus to Bushnell. The population of the town decreased and it was no longer advisable to maintain a high school in Center Hill. The freeze of 1894-95 slowed activity in the town.  The early part of 1900 Center Hill became a “boom” town.  It became the leading string bean capital of the world, shipping nearly 400 railroad cars of string beans that year. Center Hill was the only town in Sumter County that could boast both Western Union and Postal Telegraph offices in the early days.



Center Hill Real Estate Market

Homes for Sale


New on Market


Average Days on Market

Median Sale Price


List to Sale Price Ratio